Club Notes for Friday 27th July 2012

posted 31 Jul 2012, 04:07 by Unknown user   [ updated 31 Jul 2012, 04:07 by Vanness Vassallo ]

On Wednesday last we played our senior B championship final against Mostrim in Pearse Park.  Heavy rainfall during the day made for a slippy surface to an otherwise perfect Pearse Park sod.  This was the first time we reached the final of this competition having lost to the same opposition at the semi final stage last year.  It was the Mostrim men who got off to a blistering start dominating the early play and scoring a goal and a point without reply. We got our first score of the game, a Gary Maguire point from play. A point from play from our opponents restored their 4 pt lead.  It was at this stage we enjoyed a sustained period of pressure which resulted in a 1-3 scoring return all coming from Gary Maguire. Mostrim responded well landing a brace of points to level proceedings.  As the half entered the closing stages Emmet Masterson fisted over the bar after a good run and this was followed by a Donal Sheridan goal.  The sides went in at half time Dromard 2-5 Mostrim 1-4.  The second half started with a Bernard Sheridan point from play.  This was followed by a well executed goal by Gary Maguire after a good move.  Points were exchanged before a strong Mostrim fight back that yielded 4 points.  As our opponents continued to press in search of a goal, our goalkeeper and backs defended their lines to hold out for a memorable victory.  Full time score Dromard 3-07 Mostrim 1-09.  Team and scorers;  Sean McNerney, James Conefrey, Padraig McNerney, Conor Duffy, Peadar Faughnan, Kevin Donohoe, Paul McEntire, Donal Sheridan (1-00), James Mimnagh, Emmet Masterson (0-02), Bernard Sheridan (0-01), Kieran McStay, Enda Macken, Noel Reynolds, Gary Maguire (2-04) 1 free.  Subs on the day were Enda Kiernan, Mícheál Reilly, Brendan McLoughlin, Dermot Reilly, Conor Kiernan, Fergal Berry, Keith Masterson, Kevin Maguire, Padraig Jones, Martin McGee, Donie Conefrey, Thomas Conefrey and Kevin Hourican.  There was great elation among our players and supporters when team captain Enda Macken accepted the cup on behalf of the panel. This title was in follow up to the Reserve League Div 1 title that the same panel of players captured a number of weeks earlier.  Players deserve great credit on this great achievement.  They must be complimented for their dedication and commitment given all season.  The success they achieved is a fitting reward for their hard work. A big thanks goes to joint managers Sean T. Donohoe and Gerry Mimnagh on leading this group to their second title of the season. Both men left no stone unturned in their preparation in both campaigns. Thanks to Pat Jones who looked after the first aid needs. Thanks to the ever present Danny O’Toole and Noel Maguire who assisted behind the scenes.  We wish Paul Mc Entire a speedy recovery from an injury he sustained during the course of the game. On Friday last we had Fr. Manning Gaels as visitors for an All County league Div. 1 game. The evening was sunny and the pitch was in good condition. It was our neighbours who opened the scoring with a point from play.  A Francis McGee point from a free levelled matters.  Both teams traded scores for the remainder of the half with the Gaels having a point advantage as the half time break drew near. Our opponents then struck with a goal on the stroke of half time leaving the score at half time Dromard 0-07 Fr. Manning Gaels 1-08.  The second half was hard fought with scores at a premium.  Declan Mimnagh slotted a point from play but it was the visitors who registered a brace of points to extend their lead.  Dromard pulled a goal and a point back to reduce the lead to the minimum of margins. While we did finish strong we were unable to breach the resilient Gaels rearguard.  The final score was Dromard 1-09 Fr. Manning Gaels 1-10.  Team and scorers;  Damien Sheridan, Paul McGee, Cathal Conefrey, David Pettit, John Sheridan, James Mimnagh, Peter Reynolds, Bernard Sheridan, Enda McEntire, Donal Sheridan, Francis Mc Gee (0-03) 2 frees, 1 45, Cían Mimnagh, James Martin (0-04), Ronan McEntire, Declan Mimnagh (1-02).  Subs used;  Padraig McNerney, Noel Reynolds, Kevin Donohoe, Peadar Faughnan and Gary Maguire.  Other subs on the day were Emmet Masterson, Kieran McStay, Enda Kiernan, Conor Kiernan and Mícheál Reilly. On Sunday evening last our Div 3 panel travelled to Monaduff to play the home side.  While we were in arrears at the end, this was a useful work out with the junior championship round the corner.  Team and scorers;  Danny Pettit, Thomas Conefrey, James Conefrey, Hugh Martin, Niall Berry, Keith Masterson, David Cosgrove, Michael Reynolds (1-00), Fergal Berry, Martin McGee (0-01) 1 free,  John McNaboe (0-01), Kevin Maguire, Sean McNerney (0-07) 2 frees, Jimmy Kiernan, Kevin Hourican. Our senior championship commences next weekend when we take on Mostrim in Michael Fay Park at 3.30pm on Sunday next.  Best of luck to all involved.  Your support would be greatly appreciated. Congratulations to Sean and Monica Conefrey Cammagh on the birth of their baby boy recently. Lotto results for Monday 16th July 2012. The numbers drawn were 3, 18, 26 and 29. There was no jackpot winner. The winners of the draw were Faith Murphy, Sharon Mulligan, Tara Maguire and Fergal Kiernan. The seller’s prize was won by Noel Maguire (Snr)