Club Notes for Friday 9th November 2012

posted 5 Nov 2012, 09:27 by Unknown user   [ updated 5 Nov 2012, 09:27 by Vanness Vassallo ]

We are now well into our eight week program of classes in the clubhouse and if anyone wants to join in either circuits or aerobics on Tuesday or Wednesday nights then come along to the clubhouse for 8pm either nights. On next Saturday 10th November at 11.30am we will have our 5km walk/jog/ run starting and finishing at the clubhouse. We are hoping to see everyone out on that day to support the event which is a fundraiser both for St. Christopher's and for our club. The entry fee is €10 per person or €15 per family. We will have prizes for local participants and spot prizes for all. On Sunday last our under 21’s played their opening group game against Ballymahon/Forgney in Leo Casey Park.  The pitch was in very good condition and with the weather dry conditions were suitable for football. Dromard got off to a good start, creating a number of promising attacks that resulted in two scored frees from Declan Mimnagh. While other scoring opportunities went a begging from Dromard, our lead was cancelled out when the home side scored two points. Gary Maguire landed a point from play and Declan Mimnagh added another point from a free. However it was at this stage we conceded two goals.  Both sides exchanged a brace of points before half time to leave the score at the break Dromard 0-06 Ballymahon/Forgney 2-04.  We then pulled a point back through a Neil Cosgrove point from play. Again, while we did have a good share of possession but try as we might we were luckless in raising flags. With Ballymahon/Forgney having already played a game the previous week, this was a decisive factor as they were moving well and more economical in front of goal.  Fair play to our lads, who never stopped trying right to the final whistle.  The full time score was Dromard 0-08 Ballymahon/Forgney 4-08.  Team and scorers;  Eóin McNerney, Conor Kiernan, Ronan Smith, Niall McManus, Keith Masterson, Robert Cooke, Neil Cosgrove (0-01), Mícheál Reilly, Michael Reynolds, Gary Maguire (0-02), Sean McNerney, James Kenny, Declan Mimnagh (0-05) 4 frees.  We were dealt a big blow on the run up to the game with a lot of our players being struck down with bugs that ruled out Martin McGee, David Cosgrove and Thomas Kelly while Robert Cooke and Ronan Smith played despite feeling unwell. This coupled with the fact that Peter Mimnagh and Stephen Kenny were unavoidably absent left us with a big challenge that we were unable to overcome. While this victory ensures Ballymahon/Forgney's passage through to the semi final and knocks us out of the competition we still have a remaining fixture against Carrickedmond/Legan Sarsfields in Pairc na Gael on Sunday next at 1pm. Thanks to our panel who put in a good effort in their preparations. Thanks to Kevin Hourican who put in a big effort with preparing this group. We had a useful u21 challenge against Abbeylara in Pairc na Gael on the bank holiday Monday which ended in a 2-12 to 2-9 win for the visitors.  Team and scorers; Eóin McNerney, Conor Kiernan, James Kenny, Michael Reynolds, Ronan Smith, Niall McManus, Neil Cosgrove, Keith Masterson, Sean McNerney (1-00), Micheal Reilly (0-01), Gary Maguire (0-03), Martin McGee, Declan Mimnagh (1-05) 1 goal pen, 2 frees, The Leader Cup quarter final game is fixed Sunday 18th November. Congratulations to Padraic Jones who will be a selector with Longford under 21’s for 2013.  Best wishes to Killoe in the Leinster senior club championship on Sunday next. Commiserations to the McGee family Edenmore on their bereavement during the week. We would like to remind our supporters about our upcoming raffle, the main prize for which is two return flight tickets to Australia. Tickets for the draw, costing €5 each or a book of 6 tickets for €20 are available from club members and also on line (see our club webpage ). Lotto results for Monday 29th October 2012. The numbers drawn were 11, 12, 14 and 16. There was no jackpot winner. The winners of the draw were Danny O’Toole, Michael McShane, John Joe Donohoe and Joe Tierney. The seller’s prize was won by Laura Martin.